Call Us: (03) 6229 4914


What is the National Quality Framework (NQF)?

And how will the changes affect us?

National Quality Framework The National Quality Framework aims to raise quality and drive continuous improvement and consistency in education and care services through: a national legislative framework a National Quality Standard a national quality rating and assessment process a new national body called the Australian Children’s Education and Care Quality Authority.

The National Quality Framework will take effect on 1 January 2012 with key requirements being phased in overtime.

Requirements such as qualification, educator-to-child ratios and other key staffing arrangements will be phased in between 2012 and 2020.

National Quality Standard The National Quality Standard sets a new national benchmark for the quality of education and care services. The National Quality Standard is divided into seven Quality Areas:

  1. Educational program and practice
  2.  Children’s health and safety
  3.  Physical environment
  4.  Staffing arrangements
  5.  Relationships with children
  6.  Collaborative partnerships with families and communities
  7.  Leadership and service management.

The National Quality Standard aims to promote:

  • the safety, health and wellbeing of children
  • a focus on achieving outcomes for children through high-quality educational programs
  • families’ understanding of what distinguishes a quality service.

All services must complete the self-assessment and quality improvement planning process as part of the assessment against the National Quality Standard and develop a Quality Improvement Plan that will be a working document reviewed annually.

This process has been commenced and parents/guardians have a very important role in the development of a Quality Improvement Plan.


 For more information about the National quality Framework go to

View our rating report for Ocean View where we met each standard and exceeded in some – Well done to the staff

OV Quality Rating